Technical Stuff

List of reference tests used in our laboratory :

Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR)


Table of contents

Appendices


1- Aim

Animal Pathogenic and Zoonotic E. coli (APZEC) are E. coli carrying genes encoding virulence factors enabling them to cause disease in animals or humans. APZEC are subdivided into the ETEC, EPEC, STEC/VTEC, and ExPEC pathotypes. ETEC carry one or more of the genes encoding enterotoxins LT, STa, and STb. ETEC in pigs mostly carry the genes encoding F4 or F18 fimbriae. EPEC carry the eae gene encoding Eae or Intimin. STEC/VTEC carry genes encoding VT1/Stx1 and/or VT2/Stx2 and STEC/VTEC potentially pathogenic to humans often carry the eae gene. Most ExPEC carry the genes encoding aerobactin, and often carry the genes encoding Tsh, CNF, or P fimbriae.

The aim of this procedure is to detect by multiplex PCR the presence of genes in E. coli cultures for their identification as ETEC, EPEC, STEC, or ExPEC. In addition, the determination of the presence of the genes encoding F4 or F18 in ETEC will permit their assignation as definitive agents of diarrhea in pigs. This procedure can be applied to the identification of APZEC in LB enrichment broth cultures originating from clinical samples or colonies isolated on MacConkey or other solid medium.

Table of contents

2- Principle

The method is based on PCR amplification of specific DNA regions from a template DNA, with oligonucleotides triggering the start of the PCR reaction. The PCR reaction is carried out using specific primers (Appendix 1).

Table of contents

3- Methodology

3.1- Template preparation

Cultures streaked onto solid media (e.g. TSA, blood Agar or MacConkey Agar) are processed as follows:

  • Take a streak from the first quadrant with a loop and inoculate in a tube of 5 ml of LB broth.
  • Swabs from feces or tissues are placed in a tube of 5 ml of LB broth.
  • Incubate overnight at 37±1oC.

Table of contents

3.2- DNA template

(Adapted from the method used by the Laboratory for Foodborne Zoonoses MFLP-86)

  • Identify the sample by a code on the cap of the 1.5 ml tube, centrifuge 1 ml of LB broth culture incubated overnight at 37±1oC, at 12 000 RPM for 2 minutes.
  • Discard the supernatant in a Corning bottle reserved for this use.
  • Add 1 ml PBS or FA buffer (Difco) to the pellet, mix well (vortex or up and down with pipetter).
  • Centrifuge at 12 000 RPM for 2 minutes, remove the supernatant and resuspend the pellet in 0.5 ml of sterile water Milli-Q (vortex or up and down with pipetter).
  • Heat at 100oC for 10 minutes, centrifuge at 12 000 RPM for 2 minutes. Transfer the supernatant to another tube, and identify the tube. When preparing a large number of tubes, ensure that the tubes containing DNA are kept on ice or cold.
  • Conserve sample DNA tubes at -20oC if not tested immediately.

Table of contents

3.3- Setting up the PCR reaction

For each sample, set up a 25 μl PCR reaction mixture (Appendix 2). The volume of the reagents can be scaled according to the final volume of reaction. MilliQ water must be used for PCR reactions. In each PCR assay, a positive and two negative controls must be included. The positive controls are DNA templates obtained from E. coli strains possessing the virulence genes tested, whereas one negative control is the DNA from a non-pathogenic E. coli isolate (no virulence genes harbored) and the other consists of a sample without template added. The PCR reaction mixtures are incubated in a thermal cycler programmed with the thermal profile described (Appendix 2).

Table of contents

3.4- Agarose gel electrophoresis

Prepare a 1.8% (w/v) agarose gel in 1X Tris/EDTA (Appendix 3). Each well of the gel is loaded with 15 μl of appropriate PCR reaction products with loading dye added at 1X final concentration. Run the samples in 1X running buffer (Tris/EDTA) at constant voltage (96V). Use a molecular weight marker suitable for assignment of the correct molecular weights to the amplicons produced (refer to the table in Appendix 1). Take into consideration that a correct band assignment is a crucial point in the assessment of the presence of the virulence genes. Make sure that the bands produced by the reference strains match exactly the expected molecular weight.

Ethidium Bromide should be added to agarose gels to allow the visualisation of DNA. This reagent is a DNA intercalating agent commonly used as a nucleic acid stain in molecular biology laboratories. When exposed to ultraviolet light, it will fluoresce with a red-orange color. EtBr should be added at a final concentration of 0.5 μg/ml before pouring the agarose gel in the electrophoresis gel cast. Alternatively, the agarose gel can be stained after electrophoresis in a 0.5 μg/ml ethidium bromide aqueous solution.

Table of contents

4- Equipment and instruments

  • Laminar flow hood for PCR
  • Bacteriology loops
  • 100 ml Corning bottles
  • 37oC+/-1oC incubator
  • Micropipettes
  • Sterile micropipette tips
  • 1.5 ml microcentrifuge tubes
  • 0.2 or 0.5 ml PCR tubes
  • Thermal cycler
  • MilliQ deionizer
  • Electrophoresis apparatus
  • U.V. transilluminator
  • Microwave oven

Table of contents

5- Reagents and media

  • Agar plates (blood Agar and MacConkey Agar)
  • Luria-Bertani Broth
  • FA buffer or PBS
  • PCR Reaction Mixture (Appendix 2)
    • dNTP mix stock solution
    • 10X PCR buffer stock solution (BIOTOOLS or equivalent)
    • MgCl2 stock solution 50 mM (BIOTOOLS or equivalent)
    • Taq DNA polymerase (BIOTOOLS or equivalent)
  • Synthetic oligonucleotide (primer)
  • Electrophoresis running buffer
  • Molecular weight DNA marker
  • Agarose
  • Loading buffer
  • EtBr solution

Table of contents

6- Safety and protection devices

Some STEC/VTEC strains can infect humans at a very low infectious dose and can cause severe disease. Laboratory acquired infections have been reported. Consequently, working with VTEC requires good laboratory practices and the use of protection devices. EtBr is a mutagen and toxic agent; therefore it should be used in compliance with the safety sheet provided and with protection devices (lab-coats and nitrile gloves). The U.V. light may cause damage to the eyes, thus, the use of plexiglass shields and protective glasses is mandatory.

Table of contents

7- Reference strains

The control templates can be prepared in advance and stored in 50 μl ready to use aliquots at −20oC for eight months. Data sheets for the reference strains used at the EcL are found in Appendix 4.

Table of contents

8- Interpretation of the results

Samples showing amplification fragments of the expected size (Appendix 1) are considered as positive for appropriate target genes. Positive and negative controls must be included in each reaction and give positive and negative results, respectively.

Table of contents

[English]
ECL OIE

Infos techniques

Tests de référence utilisés dans notre laboratoire :

Identification par réaction en chaîne par polymérase (PCR)


Table des matières

Annexes


1- Objectif

Les E. coli pathogènes chez les animaux et zoonotiques (APZEC) sont porteurs de gènes codant pour des facteurs de virulence pouvant causer des maladies chez les animaux ou les humains. Les APZEC sont divisés selon différents pathotypes : ETEC, EPEC, STEC/VTEC et ExPEC. Les ETEC sont porteurs d’un ou plusieurs gènes codant pour les entérotoxines LT, STa et STb. Chez le porc, les ETEC affichent principalement les gènes codant pour le fimbriae F4 ou F18. Pour leur part, les EPEC possèdent le gène eae codant pour Eae ou Intimine. Les STEC/VTEC sont quant à eux porteurs des gènes codant pour VT1/Stx1 et/ou VT2/Stx2 et les STEC/VTEC potentiellement pathogènes pour l’homme et portent fréquemment le gène eae. La plupart des ExPEC détiennent les gènes codant pour aérobactine, et en général, ont les gènes codant pour Tsh, CNF ou le fimbriae P.

L’objectif de cette procédure est de détecter par PCR multiplex la présence de gènes dans des cultures d’E. coli afin de déterminer leur pathotype (ETEC, EPEC, STEC ou ExPEC). De plus, la confirmation de la présence de gènes codant F4 ou F18 chez les ETEC permettra une identification comme agent causant la diarrhée chez le porc. Cette procédure peut être appliquée pour l’identification des APZEC à partir de culture d’enrichissement en bouillon LB provenant d’échantillons cliniques ou de colonies isolées sur milieu solide MacConkey ou autre.

Table des matières

2- Principe

La méthode est fondée sur l’amplification par PCR de gènes d’ADN spécifiques par des oligonucléotides déclenchant le début de la réaction PCR. La réaction PCR est réalisée en utilisant des amorces spécifiques (Annexe 1).

Table des matières

3- Méthodologie

3.1- Préparation de l’échantillon

Les cultures ensemencées sur milieu solide (ex. TSA, gélose sang ou gélose MacConkey) sont traitées selon les étapes suivantes :

  • Prendre une strie dans le premier quadrant avec une anse ou un coton-tige et ensemencer dans un tube de 5 ml de bouillon LB.
  • Les écouvillons provenant de fèces ou de tissus sont ensemencés directement dans un tube de 5 ml de bouillon LB.
  • Incuber toute la nuit à 37±1oC.

Table des matières

3.2- Préparation de l’ADN

(Méthode adaptée de la méthode utilisée par le Laboratoire de lutte contre les zoonoses d’origine alimentaire MFLP-86)

  • Identifier l’échantillon par un code sur le dessus d’un tube de 1,5 ml, centrifuger 1 ml de la culture LB incubée toute la nuit à 37±1oC,à 12 000 RPM pour 2 minutes.
  • Jeter le surnageant dans une bouteille en verre Corning réservée à cet usage.
  • Ajouter 1 ml PBS ou FA buffer (Difco) au culot, bien mélanger (vortexer ou mélanger avec une pipette avec des mouvements allant de haut en bas).
  • Centrifuger à 12 000 RPM pour 2 minutes, enlever le surnageant et resuspendre le culot dans 0,5 ml d’eau stérile Milli-Q (vortexer ou mélanger avec une pipette avec des mouvements allant de haut en bas).
  • Chauffer à 100oC pendant 10 minutes, centrifuger à 12 000 RPM pour 2 minutes. Transférer le surnageant dans un autre tube, et identifier le tube. Si un grand nombre de tubes est préparé, s’assurer que les tubes contenant de l’ADN, soient gardés sur glace ou au froid.
  • Conserver l’échantillon ADN à -20oC, jusqu’à son utilisation.

Table des matières

3.3- Mise au point de la réaction en PCR

Pour chaque échantillon, prévoir un mélange de réaction de 25 μl PCR (Annexe 2). Le volume des réactifs peut varier en fonction du volume final de la réaction. L’eau stérile Milli-Q est employée pour les réactions PCR. Pour chaque essai en PCR, un contrôle positif et deux contrôles négatifs doivent être inclus. Le contrôle positif est composé d’ADN obtenu à partir de souches d’E. coli possédant les gènes de virulence testés. Le premier contrôle négatif est fait à partir d’ADN d’une souche d’E. coli non-pathogène. L’autre contrôle négatif est quant à lui constitué en ajoutant de l’eau stérile Milli-Q. Les mélanges de réaction PCR sont incubés dans un thermocycleur programmé selon le profil thermique décrit (Annexe 2).

Table des matières

3.4- Électrophorèse sur gel d’agarose

Préparer un gel d’agarose de 1,8 % (w/v) avec une solution 1X Tris/EDTA (Annexe 3). À chaque puits du gel nous ajoutons 15 μl du produit de la réaction PCR auquel nous avons ajouté un colorant à une concentration finale 1X. Faire migrer les échantillons dans un tampon 1X (Tris/EDTA) à un voltage constant (96V). Employer un standard de poids moléculaire approprié pour les différents poids correspondants aux différents amplicons. (Annexe 1). Prendre en considération que l’évaluation de la présence des gènes de virulence se fait selon une bande correspondant au poids moléculaire.

Le bromure d’éthidium doit être ajouté au gel d’agarose pour permettre la visualisation de l’ADN. Ce réactif est un agent intercalant de l’ADN, il est couramment utilisé comme colorant en biologie moléculaire. Ce colorant exposé aux rayons ultraviolets donnera une fluorescence avec une couleur rouge-orange. EtBr doit être ajouté à une concentration finale de 0,5 μg/ml dans le gel avant que celui-ci soit versé dans le moule. Alternativement, le gel d’agarose peut être coloré après électrophorèse dans une solution de bromure d’éthidium 0,5 μg/ml.

Table des matières

4- Équipement et matériel

  • Hotte laminaire pour PCR
  • Anse pour ensemencement
  • Bouteilles en verre 100 ml Corning
  • Incubateur à 37oC+/-1oC
  • Micropipettes
  • Pointes universelles avec filtre DNase/RNase free
  • Microtubes 1,5 ml
  • Tubes pour PCR 0,2 ou 0,5 ml
  • Thermocycleur
  • H2O déionisée Milli-Q
  • Appareil pour électrophorèse
  • Transilluminateur pour ultraviolets
  • Micro-onde

Table des matières

5- Réactifs et milieux

  • Gélose sang et gélose MacConkey
  • Bouillon Luria-Bertani
  • Tampon FA ou PBS
  • Mélange pour la réaction PCR (Annexe 2)
    • dNTP mélange dNTP en solution mère (GE Healthcare)
    • 10X PCR tampon (BIOTOOLS ou l’équivalent)
    • MgCl2 solution mère 50 mM (BIOTOOLS ou l’équivalent)
    • Taq DNA polymérase (BIOTOOLS ou l’équivalent)
  • Oligonucléotides synthétisés (amorces)
  • Tampon pour électrophorèse
  • Marqueur de masse moléculaire (In Vitrogen)
  • Agarose
  • Colorant
  • Solution d’EtBr

Table des matières

6- Dispositifs de sécurité et de protection

Certaines souches STEC/VTEC peuvent infecter l’homme à une dose infectieuse très faible et peuvent provoquer des maladies graves. Des infections contractées en laboratoire ont déjà été signalées. Par conséquent, travailler avec des souches STEC/VTEC requiert de bonnes pratiques de laboratoires et l’utilisation de dispositifs de sécurité. EtBr est un agent mutagène et toxique. Lors de sa manipulation, il doit donc être utilisé en conformité avec la fiche de sécurité fournie et avec le matériel de protection recommandé ( gants en nitrile, sarrau et contenant bien identifié). La lumière U.V (ultraviolets) peut causer des dommages aux yeux; l’utilisation d’écran en plexiglass et de lunettes de protection est donc obligatoire.

Table des matières

7- Souches de référence

Les souches de référence peuvent être préparées à l’avance et conservées à −20oC en aliquots de 50 μl pour une période de 8 mois. Les fiches signalétiques pour les souches de référence se trouvent à l’ Annexe 4.

Table des matières

8- Interprétation des résultats

Les échantillons présentant des fragments d’amplification de la taille désirée (Annexe 1) sont considérés comme positifs pour les gènes ciblés. Les contrôles positifs et négatifs doivent être inclus dans chaque réaction et donner des résultats positifs et négatifs, respectivement.

Table des matières